

Professionalism in behavior, presentation, and conduct

Respectful of the richness and diversity of others and of self

Accountability for my actions

eXcellence in scholarship, practice, teaching, and service

Integrity, inquisitiveness, and innovation

Service to the profession and the community

UCONN SCHOOL OF NURSING



CEIN/BS Commencement Ceremony

Tuesday, December 17th, 2024

Jorgensen Center for the Performing Arts



ORDER OF EXERCISES

University Marshal

Del Siegle, Ph.D., MS, BS

Lynn and Ray Neag Endowed Chair for Talent Development

Processional Welcome

Victoria Vaughan Dickson, Ph.D., RN, FAHA, FAAN Dean and Professor, School of Nursing

Commencement Speaker

Lucinda Canty, Ph.D., CNM, FACNM, FAAN, FADLN Excellence in Nursing Leadership Award

Student Speaker

David Broughton
2024 CEIN Class President

Sigma Theta Tau International, Mu Chapter Award and Presentation of Candidates

Elizabeth Mayerson, DNP, FNP-BC, CNE President, Sigma Theta Tau Mu Chapter Assistant Director of Prelicensure Programs and Assistant Clinical Professor

Nursing PRAXIS Pledge

Diana Filipek-Oberg

President of the School of Nursing Alumni Board

Conferral of Degrees

Amy Gorin, Ph.D.

Vice Provost for Health Sciences and Professor

Closing

Victoria Vaughan Dickson, Ph.D., RN, FAHA, FAAN Dean and Professor, School of Nursing



Peggy Stolfi has embodied clinical teaching excellence in both our traditional and accelerated CEIN/BS nursing programs for the last 22 years. Not only did she love what she was doing every day, but she built strong relationships with clinical partners, most significantly the Hartford Public School System and Connecticut Children's Medical Center. Throughout her time at UConn, Peggy went above and beyond to create meaningful, memorable, and quality clinical learning experiences for our students.

Dr. Lucinda Canty Ph.D., RN, CNM, FACNM, FAAN



2024 EXCELLENCE IN LEADERSHIP AWARD

UConn's School of Nursing is honored to recognize Dr. Lucinda Canty with the University of Connecticut School of Nursing 2024 Excellence in Leadership Award! Dr. Canty is a certified nurse-midwife, an associate professor, and Director of the Health Equity in Nursing Program at the University of Massachusetts Amherst Elaine Marieb College of Nursing.

Dr. Canty received her Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut, her MSN from Yale University School of Nursing, and BSN at Columbia University School of Nursing. Her three-decade nursing career is driven by her vision for a more equitable future for new mothers, nurses, and midwives, achieved by fusing science with creativity and care delivery with compassion.

Dr. Canty's research focus on maternal health, including maternal morbidity, has led to an increased awareness of health disparities in maternal health outcomes. Her research uses a Black feminist approach to center on the experiences, perceptions, and voices of Black women to understand the issues and challenges they face and develop solutions to promote health equity.

Dr. Canty is the founder of Lucinda's House, a maternal health collective that supports Black mothers and mothers of color and works to address structural and systemic issues in care through research, health education, and community engagement. She is a member of the National Black Nurses Association and serves a co-chair of the Black Maternal Health Taskforce.

As a Professor of Nursing at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, she co-founded Overdue Reckoning on Racism in Nursing: a series of discussions on racism in nursing.

Dr. Canty is a sought-after nurse scholar in addressing both maternal health equity and anti-racism initiatives. She was featured as a Fearless Nurse on the film: **Everybody's Work Healing What Hurts Us All**, examining racism in healthcare.

A recognized leader in her field, Dr. Canty has been delivered legislative updates at the federal and state level; she is a fellow in the American Academy of Nursing and the American College of Nurse Midwives. She is the 2023 Yale School of Nursing Alumni Association (YSNAA) Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient and the recipient of the 2023 Florence S. Wald Award from the Connecticut Nurses' Association. She is also the 2024 Columbia University School of Nursing 2024 Distinguished Alumni Award for Nursing Practice.

Class of 2024 Graduates

STORRS

Nolan Alexander
James Alfonso
Patricia Antalek-Schrag *
Sophia Beland *
Hana Bojka *
Morgan Bolduk *+
Megan Boswell *
Kaeleigh Broyles
Logan Broyles

César Louange Bugingo Mackenzie Burke Matthew Burrell + Tammaris Calhoun Cecilia Cho Alyssa Condon *

Seth Courchesne *+

Emmalee Deojay *
Alex Deoss *
Justin Fifield *
Kabira Goodall *
Georgia Gray *
Jessica Heller *

Kayla Higgins *
Sheenkai Jabary *

Joanna Her *

Whitney Knight *
Erin LaFleur *
Derrick Legault
Erin Malley
Brent Mayerson *

Isabela Mayumi Mendiola Montano*

Tyler Moore *
Kevin Morales *
Hooman Musavi
Astuanta Awa Niang
Zareena Niazi

Joshua Ferdinand Nitura Kathleen O'Connell *

Jenne Pfeifer *

Zoe Trzaskos *

Benjamin Wood *

Carolyn Zimmer *

Briana Phouadara

Matthew Pinheiro
Jailene Quintero
Izabella Raviv *
Jadalynn Rivera
Janice Saligan Lawlor
Jennifer Simpson
Devin Sukhram *
Karen Tirgrath *

AVERY POINT

Emily Bigelow + Renee Blaise Joanna Bukowska Christopher Burkle Alexandria Conde Avdva Espinoza Allison Federici Frin Haas * Brenda Hidalgo Juliette Hogan Heaven Hurd * Madison Keefe Kaelvnn Mirabile * Annie Ramirez * Maria-Fernanda Reves * Tvler Rouillard + Rvleigh Shortell * **Gretchen Stelter*** Mary Tobin*

Hailey Tompkins *+

STAMFORD

Class of 2024 Graduates

Khadiia Ali Leslie Almonte * Stephanie Aragon * Savannah Bromlev * **David Broughton *** Emily Bueti * Caterina Ceci AnaMaria Cucciniello Willard Fiore* Hutch Garrett + Makeba George Isabella Giordano * Brvan Gonzalez-Torres Sarah Jablonsky * Almira Kastrati Olivia Kennedv * Kellv Kirbv * Desiree Martin **Zuguila Mbachiantim**

Amanda McCarthy *
Kayley McLaughlin
Nicole McMeekin *
Diane Miranda

Morgan Moltzau *

Joanna Moomjian *
Patrick Nguyen *
Maria Novoa *
Lauren O'Hearn
Alissa Perdomo
Vinu Pillai *
Fudgi Plantaud +
Sarah Rahmig *
Mollie Roman
Meghan Schlichtig
Tiffany Scott
Grayson Simon
Lucy Weissauer *
Laucrecia Worae *

WATERBURY

Leo Alejandro

Katharina Arauio * Azya Bass * Betzaida Bayouth * Marisa Canova * Joseph Celio * Natalie Chasse Gosia Cunningham * Tenzin Dahnzav * Callia Donahue * Lauren Ferguson * **Courtney Graham *** Adrijana Hasango Lvndsev Hassenfeldt *+ Hailev Hotchkiss **Destiny Jones** Christina Ann Kampson * Candace Laieunesse Julianne Le * Shanna Lennehan * Jessenia Loia-Rivera Danielle Lurate * Austin McMahon * Bradv McQuade * Noslen M. Negrón Elias Noori Katherine Peavv Rilev Peragine * Shane Peterson + 7oe Pezzulo * Yalda Rashid Jude Remy Madison Rocha * Ashlev Stone * Herta Sufka Erica Sweeney * Amelia Taddei * Emily Thompson * Janee Walker

Jazmin Zambrano *

BOLD = Class Officers

- * = Sigma Theta Tau
- + Veterans & active military